February 13, 2012

BASICS Podcast 014 - WRK

I think it's fair to assume there's never been a specific dance music subgenre that suffered more mutations than UK Garage over the course of the years. Starting off with the progressiveness of US Garage and carrying on through the percussive brilliance of classic UK imports, the posh R&B mixture introduced to the mass audiences by Luck & Neat and Artful Dodger, through Dark Garage, Horsepower, Gurley, Bias and the foundation of Dubstep, through 2-Step and 4/4, through Whistla, Sub FM, L2S and the whole coining process for the term Future Garage, even through Control-S and Hed Kandi, through Blackdown and Keysound, up to date along with Jacques Greene's, Mosca's or DJ Q's revamps and the huge amount of inspiration provided for various Bass Music producers out there - it has been through it all.

So, figured our fourteenth issue should reflect some of the past, current and future forms a chopped, bubbled riddim can take, and to do so we turned to one of the trusted true-school Garage / 2-Step / early-day Dubstep / Broken / Bass Music heads around: WRK.

WRK has been involved literally for ages, pushing all sorts of shuffled and bass-heavy sounds in his home town - Targu Mures, among all sorts of other places. If you were around in 2008 he played a brilliant warm-up set - which we can still remember almost entirely - for Whistla's first visit in Bucharest. If you missed it back then, we shared a couple of line-ups since and it's safe to say he's yet to disappoint!

His contribution for BASICS is a staggering 135+ bpm collection of eighteen carefully selected, properly (!!!) mixed Future Garage, Dubstep and Bass Music tracks. Whether you're looking forward to hear the classics - Kode9, Zed Bias or Goth Trad - at work, whether you're more likely to respond to new blood such as Vessel, Mock The Zuma or Throwing Snow, whether you're in for the hype associated with Distal or Damu - it's all there and the mixtape will deliver!

In our own words, we're talking about shuffled chopstick madness with sizeable amounts of bass on the side here. Punchy enough to make you wiggle your chair, smooth enough for some after-work decompression at home and definitely something we'd take along for a laidback nite drive on snowy roads. Believe us, you're in for such a treat this time!


01. King Midas Sound - Meltdown (Kode9 & The Spaceape Rework) [Hyperdub]
02. Luska - Autobiography (Original Mix) [Dub Fetish Records]
03. Pale - Why'd You Even Say (Original Mix) [Fat! Records]
04. Cauto - 35 [Disboot]
05. Fontaine - No Cure [Gradient Audio]
06. Vessel - Ton [Left Blank]
07. Goth Trad - Sublimation [Deep Medi]
08. Distal - Space Graffiti [Tube10 Recordings]
09. Damu - Ridin' The Hype (feat. Trim) [Keysound Recordings]
10. Acre - Ghatt [Embassy Recordings]
11. Mock The Zuma - Black Puddle [Fullfridge Music]
12. Enigma Dubz - Between Me And You [Four40 Records]
13. Zed Bias feat. FaltyDL - Lucid Dreams [Tru Thoughts]
14. LPZ - Problems (Ave Blaste & Tom Central Remix) [Keep Up!]
15. Aeon - Different Quotes [Area Recordings]
16. Throwing Snow - Pyre [Local Action]
17. Funk Ethics & Lucid Directions - Together (Original Mix) [Boka Records]
18. Aphex Twin - Tha (Stavrogin Remix) [Free Download]

DOWNLOAD (via Sendspace - available for 30 days)

Make sure you rinse it thoroughly and tell someone about it.

Also, two more classic mixes signed off by WRK - Believe Me Winston and a guest mix for Tamaka's Spaecial Beats - are available here.

No comments: